5 Ways To Grow Closer To God

photo-1422207175003-e5b7d45ceb7bI have a confession to make. I don’t spend enough time with God. There are one-hundred-sixty-eight hours in a week and I spend more of them scrolling through my Facebook and Twitter feeds than spending time with the One who created and saved me.

Can you relate?

I try to live like He is my everything but if I were honest with myself I don’t spend enough time getting to know Him. I want Him to be the center of my world. But the hardest part is sitting down and doing it.

I’ve compiled a few suggestions that I hope will help you and me grow stronger to God by spending more time with Him.

  1. Listen to a worship song

I’m not talking about turning on the radio and head-bumping to a Christian song. I’m talking about hearing and meditating on a worship song. And not just listening but really listening. Lay on the floor or kneel, turn on a song, and listen. Let the words sink into your heart and sing them to your creator. Focus only on Him and praise Him.

Hillsong is a great place to start and that’s only scratching the surface of the great worship music available today. I’m working on broadening my horizons and finding more. If you don’t know where to start try FIRST by Lauren Daigle or OCEANS by Hillsong.

  1. Start a devotional

This is a hard one for me. I’ve started and stopped multiple devotionals. I’ll pick one off a shelf, do the first week, and then conveniently forget about it. I haven’t found one that speaks to me, but that does not excuse me to stop looking. Maybe it’s not even a devotional but an inspirational non-fiction book that can speak to your heart. (I’m going to be looking into that. And I’ll mention one I have read below.) Or maybe invest in a devotional with pages for each day of the year. Whatever it is, try to stick with it and find one that you can learn from and get excited about reading. If you want to read a great book for girls or woman try CAPTIVATING by Stasi Eldredge.

  1. Pray on your knees

It’s so easy to say a quick prayer before a test or after we see an accident on the side of the road, but it’s a wholly different to get on your knees and make time for God. When I was going through a dark season in my life I got down on my knees every day and talked to God. I’ve since stopped that routine, but I’d like to pick it back up. Maybe not every day but at least once a week. There’s something special about connecting with God in submission. When we are on our knees it’s like we are bowing to him and his authority. God want’s good things for us and fellowship with us, but He can’t force us to spend time with him.

  1. Read a chapter of the Bible

We know we should be reading our Bibles, but we don’t. I read my Bible most every day but do I always meditate on what I learn? No. Sometimes I just skim and my heart doesn’t even understand what I just read. One growing method of Bible study is verse mapping. I have tried it a few days and seen awesome things from God. Or maybe you’re not like me and you don’t ever read your Bible. Try to just take some time and read every day. Start in the Gospels, Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. Get to know the God who saved you and loves you more than you can imagine.

  1. Journal

Have you ever heard of people keeping a prayer journal or a Bible journal? I’m sure you have. It’s a way to remember and connect with what you read or write out your prayers. For me, journaling is the verse mapping, but it can be used in all different ways. What is most on your heart? Maybe you should journal your prayers and pour out your heart to God on the page. Or maybe you should jot notes down as you read your Bible. Start by buying a cute journal that you’ll be excited to write in then see where God takes you.

The desire of my heart is to get to know my God better and I’m sure a lot of you feel the same way. Let’s try a few of these five things and see how our relationships grow.

Do you have any other suggestions on growing closer to God?

Leave a Reply

